What To Read if You Loved “Nope”

If you loved "Nope," then these books are for you.
If you loved “Nope,” then these books are for you.

After seeing Jordan Peele’s Nope, are you seeking for something new to read? Here are some suggestions. Minor plot-related spoilers for the film Nope are forthcoming.

You’re undoubtedly here because, like me, you can’t stop thinking about Nope, the newest horror movie from Jordan Peele, the genre’s most beloved director. In Peele’s most recent movie, there are a lot of moving parts that come together to make a frightening and thought-provoking whole. It’s a novel approach to the UFO/alien invasion horror genre. It’s a monster horror movie with social commentary on media gimmicks, exploitation, and other topics. It is a horror movie about the craft of creating movies. Of course, there are also a lot of humorous moments since it’s Jordan Peele.

Nope is now living rent-free in our collective imaginations in part because it is such a distinctive movie. Nothing else exists that is precisely like it. If you’re seeking for fiction that incorporates certain Nope components, there are several books that you’re bound to enjoy. I thus have a ton of suggestions for you whether you’re seeking for intelligent alien invasion/UFO fiction, monster horror with social criticism, or horror books about filmmaking! Nothing will compare to seeing Nope for the first time, but these books are very close. They are also simply outstanding in and of themselves. See for yourself by reading!

This post contains affiliate links. When you buy through my links, I may earn a small commission. Thank you.

LAGOON 

BY NNEDI OKORAFOR

https://amzn.to/3ptehY3

A genre-defying book set in Lagos, Nigeria, called Nnedi Okorafor’s Lagoon is recounted from several different points of view. Off Bar Beach’s coast, a large item that has not yet been identified has crashed into the water. Marine biologist Adaora, soldier Agu, and Ghanaian artist Anthony are the three individuals whose lives are impacted by the unexpected alien presence in the ocean and who will bring about change in Lagos and the rest of the globe. This is a science fiction tale about an extraterrestrial invasion that draws ideas from several sources, including superhero comics and Nigerian folklore.

THE LIVES OF TAO 

BY WESLEY CHU

https://amzn.to/3QCYAcP

Wesley Chu’s Tao series, beginning with The Lives of Tao, will definitely be something you truly appreciate if one of your favorite aspects of Nope was the sci-fi comedy blend. Roen is a voice-hearing IT specialist who is out of shape. He must be losing his sense of reality, right? Wrong. The voice within his head is actually Tao, an extraterrestrial whose race landed on Earth billions of years ago. Tao is a passenger inside his brain. Although Tao’s people have been engaged in a civil war for generations, both sides eventually desire to leave the planet.

THE TOMMYKNOCKERS 

BY STEPHEN KING

https://amzn.to/3psxj0O

The fact that Stephen King’s interpretation of an extraterrestrial invasion narrative is utterly terrifying certainly comes as no surprise. Something unusual is going on in Haven, Maine, a little town. Author Bobbi Anderson finds a piece of metal while walking her dog in the woods, and that’s how it all begins. She quickly understands that what she has discovered is more than simply a chance discovery of metal. It truly came from an extraterrestrial ship that was buried. And while she labors to extricate the alien ship from the earth, Haven’s whole population and environment start to alter.

UNDER THE SKIN 

BY MICHEL FABER

https://amzn.to/3QDA9fi

Fans of Nope should definitely read Under the Skin, a sci-fi/horror alien invasion story with a strong societal critique. Isserly roams the Scottish roadways in search of males. She doesn’t give a damn about their identities or desires. She just cares that they are very muscular and don’t have any family members who will go seeking for them. This book is full of surprises and thematically addresses many societal themes that aren’t fundamental to the movie Under the Skin, even if you have watched the movie (which is also fantastic). So be sure to look it up!

THE ONLY GOOD INDIANS 

BY STEPHEN GRAHAM JONES

https://amzn.to/3wfdIFl

Given that Stephen Graham Jones is sometimes referred to as the Jordan Peele of horror literature, it seemed only natural that one of his works would make this list. What better book to read at this time than The Only Good Indians, which is all about animals taking revenge on humans. This horrifying horror story follows four Blackfoot Indian men who go on a hunting trip when they are young. However, their elk hunt goes horribly wrong. Years later, an evil ghost that is out for vengeance is going for the guys one by one.

MONSTER PORTRAITS 

BY SOFIA SAMATAR

https://amzn.to/3PB7o1N

Similar to Jordan Peele’s work, Sofia Samatar’s Monster Portraits is made up of several moving parts that come together to form a singular, amazing whole. This book examines how society uses the idea of monsters to define, separate, and create a sense of “otherness” via poetry, art, memoir, academic study, and fiction. For those of us who enjoy reading about monsters and want to learn more about how the grotesque can illuminate contemporary societal challenges, this book is a must-read.

THE LOW, LOW WOODS 

BY CARMEN MARIA MACHADO

https://amzn.to/3K5fQF7

Welcome to Shudder-to-Think, Pennsylvania, a little community inhabited by bizarre beasts and troubled by a disease that steals memories from its victims. El and Vee discover they are the most recent victims of this terrifying illness when they suddenly find themselves in a movie theater with no memory of how they got there. How far will they go, though, to reclaim their memories? Will they wish they could go back to forgetting after they find the dark monsters buried in their memories—and in the town itself?

EMPIRE OF WILD 

BY CHERIE DIMALINE

https://amzn.to/3PBQsbp

Empire of Wild by Cherie Dimaline delves into the legend of a creature you may be familiar with. I’m referring to the Rogarou, of course. For over a year, Joan’s husband has been absent. Then one morning, from a revival tent in the Walmart parking lot, she clearly hears his voice. It’s him as predicted, but he adamantly denies being who she claims he is. Joan is aware that her husband has suffered a horrible loss, and it will now be her responsibility to bring him back.

PATRICIA WANTS TO CUDDLE 

BY SAMANTHA ALLEN

https://amzn.to/3SV4PKN

I believe all Jordan Peele fans will like the excellent blend of humour and horror in this sapphic book. This book is not only about monsters but also the process of recording a television program, so all in all, it’s a win-win-win situation. The last four candidates of a reality TV dating program are brought to a secret island in the Pacific Northwest in Patricia Wants to Cuddle. They expected to face off for their affection. But Patricia, a volatile local who lives alone in the woods and is eager to form her own bond, caught them off guard.

THE REMAKING 

BY CLAY MCCLEOD CHAPMAN

https://amzn.to/3CdFlCf

The Remaking is the ideal horror book for those who enjoy real crime and filmmaking since it is based on a genuine story. Urban legends have sprung up around the tale of the witch Ella Louise and her daughter Jessica, as well as the horror movie based on their tale that was made in the 1970s. The 1990s movie’s meta-remake, which was likewise cloaked in mystery, is another example. And the podcast that seeks to clear up all the questions and rumors. What really happened with Ella Louise and Jessica? And how do those who tell stories influence the truth as they do so?

PLAIN BAD HEROINES 

BY EMILY M. DANFORTH

https://amzn.to/3K5gouF

Another horror book that, in my opinion, would pass Jordan Peele’s approval for its use of comedy is this one. A sapphic horror-comedy called Plain Bad Heroines exists (yep, another one! Can you ever have too many?) about the boarding school Brookhants School for Girls, which has a tragic and enigmatic past that includes several unsettling fatalities. In honor of the lesbian, feminist history of the school that was so plagued, Merritt Emmons has published a book one hundred years after the tragedies that befell the school. And sure, a horror movie based on the author’s novel was made.

NIGHT FILM 

BY MARISHA PESSL

https://amzn.to/3A0IN0g

Even though Night Picture focuses more on the spectacle of filming and the lengths some individuals would go to in order to see a movie created, it still belongs on our list even if it is more of a thriller than a straight-up horror film. Investigative writer Scott McGrath thinks foul play may have been involved when Ashley Cordova, the daughter of cult horror movie director Stanislaus Cordova, is discovered dead in an abandoned warehouse. Although Cordova’s horrific movies have inspired a great deal of writing, little is known about the guy himself. McGrath comes perilously near to learning the truth about Ashley’s death as he investigates the mysteries around Cordova.

HARROW LAKE 

BY KAT ELLIS

https://amzn.to/3CifhpQ

Harrow Lake is another example of a horror movie director’s daughter. Lola Nox is confident that nothing can frighten her because she is the famous horror movie director’s daughter. Lola is compelled to reside at Harrow Lake, the place where her father’s most well-known horror film was filmed, when her father is viciously attacked. Additionally, this village looks to be scarier than the actual movie. Strangely, the community seems preoccupied with Lola’s father’s business, and someone appears to be watching Lola at all times.

Until the release of the upcoming Jordan Peele horror film, these novels ought to tide you over. Or, if not that, at least until you can return to the cinema to watch NOPE once again.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: